Revolutionary Electric Ride: One Year Revealed!

After 12 months and 25,000 miles of driving, here’s a 1-year update on my Hyundai Ioniq 5

Scott Debevic
6 min readJun 27, 2023
Hyundai Ioniq 5 image from insiders.com

I didn’t buy a Tesla. Where I live, every other car is a white Tesla. Sometimes where I live feels like a utopian Tesla city interrupted by obnoxious lifted trucks brandishing American Flags a la WWF’s Jim “The Hacksaw” Duggan. I didn’t want to fall into the conformity trap and I don’t watch enough Fox News to sport my national pride on my vehicle. Plus, I’ve talked a lot of shit about Elon Musk, so it would be too hypocritical for me to own a Tesla.

But, after a year, maybe I should have bought one. I’ve put more miles on my Hyundai Ioniq 5 in the past year than any other vehicle I owned. And it’s not just because I don’t have to pay for gas. I love the car. If you are open to leaving the Tesla echo chamber and want a badass EV, I’d encourage you to check out the Ioniq 5.

In this piece, I will explain what I love about the car, what I hate about it, and why it may or may not be the right car for you. Simply because I love something doesn’t mean you should go out and buy one. However, it may make you think twice before automatically assuming your first EV will be a Tesla.

The things I love most about the Ioniq 5

--

--

Scott Debevic

My goal is growing wealth and earning passive income. Mainly focused on Bitcoin and crypto. Feel free to contact me at: scottdebevic@gmail.com