Is YouTube Premium Worth It?

Scott Debevic
3 min readJun 15, 2021

I’ve paid for a YouTube Premium plan for three months and it is definitely money well spent. Here’s a YouTube premium review on why it’s worth the money.

I have plenty of subscriptions: Netflix, Disney+, Amazon Prime, Medium, HBO Max, Spotify, ESPN+, Kindle Unlimited, and now YouTube Premium. I would argue that Medium is the best value, but YouTube Premium is now a close second. When paying for YouTube premium, it includes: ad-free video playing, access to all YouTube Originals, ability to play YouTube videos in the background on your device, the ability to download videos and watch them offline as well as ad-free access to YouTube music. The single person plan costs 11.99/mo and a family plan is 17.99/mo (up to 5 family members) and you get a free 30 day trial to test it out.

Why YouTube Premium is worth it

The Ads

The ads on YouTube are the worst. They repeat the same ads over and over. While this is more effective for advertisers, it is absolutely annoying for users. How many Postmates ads do I need to view/hear? The volume is higher on these ads making them even more offensive and distasteful. YouTube Premium eliminates all ads before, during, and in between videos.

The Convenience

I used to not listen to YouTube videos in my car because it was unsafe skipping ads…

--

--

Scott Debevic

My goal is growing wealth and earning passive income. Mainly focused on Bitcoin and crypto. Feel free to contact me at: scottdebevic@gmail.com