Crypto Season: $300 billion chopped from the crypto market cap in 24 hours. What now?

Scott Debevic
4 min readSep 8, 2021

“Every once in a while, I’d have to take a beating. But by then, I didn’t care. The way I saw it, everybody takes a beating sometime.”
-Henry Hill from GoodFellas

Bitcoin dropped, Ethereum dropped, longs were liquidated, margins were called. I woke up this morning, pulled up CoinGecko, and wanted to throw my phone. I put it down, turned over, and went back to sleep. No point in counting my paper losses while I was still tired.

Woman screaming in disbelief as she has lost her mind.
Picture by Monstera on Pexels

No videos on YouTube yet telling me to buy the dip. I guess all the influencers wanted to wait until the dust settled before releasing their clickbait. I pulled up CoinGecko again and the results were even worse. My portfolio dropped more, but it appeared that Bitcoin had stabilized.

The kids were home from school so at least I had something to occupy my time and energy instead of looking at the wreckage in my portfolio. I don’t think that they had a clue that daddy lost at least one year of their college tuition.

What now? I pulled up my accounts as I always try to buy my Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Chainlink at the same time every day. “I’m buying more for my money today than yesterday,” I thought, attempting to make the best of a bad situation. “Oh! And Solana is still holding strong. It’s such a shame…

--

--

Scott Debevic

My goal is growing wealth and earning passive income. Mainly focused on Bitcoin and crypto. Feel free to contact me at: scottdebevic@gmail.com