5 Brutally Honest Lessons I Learned After Losing Thousands in Celsius and Voyager

Celsius filing for bankruptcy protection one month after pausing customer withdrawals surprised absolutely nobody. Here’s what I’ve learned.

Scott Debevic
7 min readJul 15, 2022
Photo by Milivoj Kuhar on Unsplash

Many people have a tequila story. You know the one- They don’t drink tequila because…(insert story here) happened after tequila shots. I’ve got a similar story with spiced rum. I was in college, trying to impress some new friends, and I drank nearly an entire bottle of Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum. I forgot most of what happened that night, but when I awoke the following day in my apartment’s hallway in my boxers, I immediately realized I had failed to impress anybody.

You can probably guess the sickness that followed. I haven’t drank a sip of spiced rum since that night. Sometimes, you must drink into a drunken stupor to learn an alcohol lesson. Unfortunately, I have to lose thousands of dollars worth of crypto to learn financial lessons. The sickness I’m feeling is less in my stomach and more in my brain’s anxiety and stress centers. As a form of personal therapy, I’ll share some of the brutal lessons I’ve taken away from this experience.

A quick note on lessons and why I have written this article

--

--

Scott Debevic

My goal is growing wealth and earning passive income. Mainly focused on Bitcoin and crypto. Feel free to contact me at: scottdebevic@gmail.com